North Carolina Department of Health & Human Services —Mental Health/Developmental Disabilities/Substance Abuse Services

DHHS Incident and Death Report

Provider Agency Name Consumer’s Name LME Client Record Number.

This form is used to report Level Il and Level Il incidents, including deaths and restrictive interventions, involving any person receiving publicly funded mental health, developmental
disabilities and/or substance abuse (MH/DD/SA) services. Facilities licensed under G.S. 122C (except hospitals) and unlicensed providers of community-based MH/DD/SA services must
submit the form, as required by North Carolina Administrative Code 10A NCAC 27G .0600, 26C .0300, and 27E .0104(e)(18). Failure to complete this form may result in administrative
actions against the provider's license and/or authorization to receive public funding. This form may also be used for internal documentation of Level | incidents, if required by provider
policy or LME contract. Effective May 1, 2010, this form replaces the DHHS Incident and Death Report (Form QM02, Revised April, 2009).

Instructions: Complete and submit this form to the local and/or state agencies responsible for oversight within 72 hours of learning of the
incident (See page 3 for details). Report deaths of consumers that occur within 7 days of restraint or seclusion immediately.
If requested information is unavailable, provide an explanation on the form and report the additional information as soon as possible.

Page 1-2 Instructions: The staff person who is most knowledgeable about the incident should complete pages 1-2 of this form as soon as possible
after learning of the incident and submit to their supervisor or other staff as directed by agency policy) for review and approval.

Date of Incident: Time of Incident: |:| a.m. |:| p.m. |:| Unknown

CONSUMER INFORMATION

Consumer’s Date of Birth: Consumer’s Gender: |:| Male |:| Female

All Diagnoses: Consumer enrolled in Methadone maintenance program? |:| Yes

Consumer enrolled in one of the following CAP/MR-DD

Consumer adjudicated incompetent? []ves [No Waiver services?  Check all that apply:
Consumer has TBI (Traumatic Brain Injury)? [_] Yes [_] No L1 Comprehensive Waiver

. ) Supports Waiver
Consumer receiving ICF-MR/DD Services? |:| Yes |:| No . PP

[J Money Follows the Person

[ Innovations

RACE:
[ Hispanic/Latino [J Native American [J White/Anglo
[ Black/African American [JMixed Race [ Other

LOCATION OF INCIDENT

|:| Community |:| Consumer’s legal residence |:| Day Treatment |:| Family’'s home |:| Friend’s home |:| Hospital

E |:| Provider premises |:| Unknown |:| Other (specify)

L

a

O

Z Name / title of first staff person to learn of incident

LL

g Was the consumer under the care of the reporting provider at the time of the incident? |:| Yes |:| No

8 Was the consumer treated by a licensed health care professional for the incident? |:| Yes |:| No Date:
o Was the consumer hospitalized for the incident? |:| Yes |:| No Date:
O

0

L

@)

NOTE: Incident reports are quality assurance documents. Do not file incident reports in the consumer’s service record. Confidentiality of consumer information is
protected. Use the form according to confidentiality requirements in NC General Statutes and Administrative Code and the Code of Federal Regulations.
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North Carolina Department of Health & Human Services —Mental Health/Developmental Disabilities/Substance Abuse Services

DHHS Incident and Death Report

Provider Agency Name Consumer’s Name LME Client Record Number.

Briefly describe the incident, including Who, What, When, Where, and How. Do not provide another consumer’s name or identifying
information.

CONSUMER DEATH

Level Il death due to: [_] Terminal illness/natural causes

Level Ill death due to: [_| SUICIDE [ ] ACCIDENT [ ] HOMICIDE / VIOLENCE [ ] UNKNOWN CAUSE

Did death occur within 7 days of the restrictive intervention? [_| Yes [_| No If yes, immediately submit this form to your supervisor.

DETAILS OF DEATH REPORTABLE TO NC DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

Complete this section only for deaths from suicide, accident, homicide/violence, unknown cause or occurring within 7 days of restrictive
intervention.

Address where consumer died: County
— Physical illnesses / conditions diagnosed prior to death:
Z
g Dates of last two (2) medical exams: |:| Unknown |:| None
g Date of most recent admission to a hospital for physical illness: |:| Unknown |:| None
T Date of most recent discharge from a hospital for physical illness: |:| Unknown |:| None
8 Date of most recent admission to an inpatient mh/dd/sas facility: |:| Unknown |:| None
% Date of most recent discharge from an inpatient mh/dd/sas facility: |:| Unknown |:| None
Height: ft in |:| Unknown Weight: Ibs |:| Unknown

RESTRICTIVE INTERVENTION

Did death occur within 7 days of the restrictive intervention? |:| Yes |:| No If yes, immediately submit this form to your
supervisor.

(Number in order of use) | |5 the use of restrictive intervention part of the consumer’s Individual Service Plan? [_]Yes [_]No

_ Physical Restraint Was the restrictive intervention administered appropriately? |:| Yes |:| No
__Isolation Did the use of restrictive intervention(s) result in discomfort, complaint, or
Seclusion require treatment by a licensed health professional? |:| Yes |:| No

Attach a Restrictive Intervention Details Report (Form QMO3) or a provider agency form with comparable information.

NOTE: Incident reports are quality assurance documents. Do not file incident reports in the consumer’s service record. Confidentiality of consumer information is
protected. Use the form according to confidentiality requirements in NC General Statutes and Administrative Code and the Code of Federal Regulations.
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North Carolina Department of Health & Human Services —Mental Health/Developmental Disabilities/Substance Abuse Services

DHHS Incident and Death Report

OTHER INCIDENT
INJURY ABUSE ALLEGATION MEDICATION ERROR
Report injuries requiring treatment by a (Check all that apply) Report errors that threaten health or safety
licensed health professional [_] Alleged abuse of a consumer (includes (Check all that apply)
(Check only one) sexual abuse) -
Injury due to: [] Alleged neglect of a consumer L] Wrong dose administered
Assault |:| Alleged exploitation of a consumer D Wrong medication administered
D Motor vehicle accident |:| Alleged sexual abuse of a consumer
- |:| Wrong time (administered more than one
|:| Self-injury . :
I:l Suicide attempt Report any alleged or suspected case of hour before or after prescribed time)
|:| Trip or fall abuse, neglect or e?(pIOItatlon of a |:| Missed dose |:| Refused dose
[ other (specify) consumer, as requnr.ed by Ia_w, to the
p county Dept. of Social Services and the ] Medication given to wrong consumer
DHSR Healthcare Personnel Registry (if a
staff is accused). [] other
CONSUMER BEHAVIOR (Check all that apply) OTHER INCIDENT
(Check only one)
|:| Aggressive behavior |:| Suspgnsion of a consumer
] Destructive behavior from services
] lllegal act Number of days suspended
|:| Inappropriate or illegal sexual behavior (consumer is victim, not perpetrator) |:| Expulsion of a consumer from
|:| Unplanned consumer absence of more than 3 hours over the time specified in person- centered plan services
|:| Diversion of drugs |:| Fire that threatens or impairs a
|:| Other (specify) consumer’s health or safety
Nameltitle of staff person documenting incident (Please print):
Phone ( )
Signature Date Time |:| a.m. |:| p.m.

Superyvisor’s Instructions: The supervisor of the service should review pages 1-3 of this form, complete pagse 3 and 4 and submit to required

agencies in the required timeframes.

Facility / Unit Facility /Unit Director:
Z | Service address: City: County
x O
"'DJ ';: Facility /Unit Phone Number: ( ) IPRS Billing No. or National Provider ID No.:
O | Service being provided at_time of incident: |:| Residential |:| Licensed Residential License No |:| Non-residential (specify)
S -
— | Was a 122C-Licensed service being provided at the time of the incident? |:| No |:| Yes (License No.) If yes, note
reporting instructions for Level 111 below.
[]Level Il [ Level 1l (High)
(Moderate) Immediately report verbally to the host LME. Convene an incident review committee within 24 hours if services
Send this form to the were being actively provided at time of incident or the incident occurred on the provider’s premises. Send this
I | host LME (LME form within 72 hours to:
E responsible for = host LME (see bottom of page)
Q | geographic area where = consumer’s home LME
LZ> service is provided) = NC Division of MH/DD/SAS, Quality Management Team, 3004 MSC, Raleigh, NC 27699-300
™ within 72 hours. If Voice: (919) 733-0696 Fax: (919) 508-0986
8 required by contract, NOTE: Report deaths that occur within 7 days of seclusion or restraint immediately to the host LME and
m also report tr? the L. | DMH/DDISAS Advocacy Team (919) 715-3197.
consumer’s home . . . . . . -
ul NOTE: Ifalicensed G.S.122C service was being provided at time of the Level Il incident, use the same
deadlines to report death from suicide, accident, homicide/violence, and death occurring within 7 days
of restraint or seclusion, to the NC Division of Health Service Regulation, Complaint Intake Unit, 2711
MSC, Raleigh, NC 27699-2711. Voice: 1-800-624-3004 Fax: 919-715-7724
Do not report deaths of unknown cause to DHSR.

NOTE: Incident reports are quality assurance documents. Do not file incident reports in the consumer’s service record. Confidentiality of consumer information is

protected. Use the form according to confidentiality requirements in NC General Statutes and Administrative Code and the Code of Federal Regulations.
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North Carolina Department of Health & Human Services —Mental Health/Developmental Disabilities/Substance Abuse Services

DHHS Incident and Death Report

Describe the cause of the incident; why did the incident occur?
L
n
z
o
o
(%9}
LUl
g Describe how this type of incident may be prevented in the future and any corrective measures that have been or will be put in place
w as aresult of the incident
a
>
o
a4
o

Indicate authorities or persons notified of the incident (as applicable):

Agency / Person Contact Name Phone or FAX Notification Date
% [ ] Host LME ( )
= ] Home LME ( )
<§( [] Law enforcement ( )
% [] bss county: ( )
LZL [] NC DMH/DD/SAS QM Team ( )
o [C] NC DHSR Complaint Unit ( )
pd [] NC DHSR Health Care Personnel ( )
E Registry
8 |:| Service Plan Team/Clinical Home ( )
I&J [ Parent / Guardian ( )

[] other
( )
Namettitle of supervisor authorizing report and completing page 3. (Please print):
Phone ( )
Signature Date Time |:| a.m. |:| p.m
E-mail address:.

Direct guestions to: ContactDMHQuality@ncmail.net Phone: (919) 733-0696

NOTE: Incident reports are quality assurance documents. Do not file incident reports in the consumer’s service record. Confidentiality of consumer information is
protected. Use the form according to confidentiality requirements in NC General Statutes and Administrative Code and the Code of Federal Regulations.
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