

Long-Term and Behavioral Health Committee Minutes - DRAFT Thursday, May 19, 2022 10:00 a.m. -12 Noon WebEx Event

This remote meeting was held during the COVID-19 declared State of Emergency. As such, the meeting followed the directives in SL 2020-3 (SB704) enacted May 4, 2020.

Committee Members Present: Ms. Valarie Jarvis, Ms. Vanessa Ervin, Mr. Jim Martin, Mr. Tim Rogers, Sen. Michael Garrett

Committee Members Absent: Mr. Cooper Linton, Ms. Quintana Stewart

Healthcare Planning: Ms. Melinda Boyette, Ms. Elizabeth Brown, Dr. Amy Craddock, Dr. Tom Dickson, Dr. Andrea Emanuel, Ms. Trenesse Michael

DHSR Staff: Ms. Gloria Hale, Ms. Julie Faenza, Ms. Micheala Mitchell, Ms. Lisa Pittman, Ms. Donna Donihi, Ms. Tanya Saporito, Mr. Mike McKillip

AG's Office: Mr. Derek Hunter

Agenda Items	Discussion/Action	Motion	Vote	Recommendation / Action
Welcome & Announcements	Ms. Jarvis welcomed members, staff and the public to the second Long-Term and Behavioral Health (LTBH) Committee meeting of 2022. The meeting was held remotely due to the COVID-19 State of Emergency. Ms. Jarvis explained that the meeting was open to the public, but discussions, deliberations and recommendations would be limited to members of the Committee and staff. Ms. Jarvis stated that the purpose of this meeting was to conduct a preliminary review of data tables and need determinations for Chapters 10 -16 for the Proposed 2023 State Medical Facilities Plan (SMFP) and to vote on a recommendation to the State Health Coordinating Council (SHCC). Committee members and staff in attendance were introduced.			
Review of Executive Order No. 46 and Executive Order No. 187	Ms. Jarvis reviewed Executive Orders 46 and 187 and gave an overview of the procedures to observe before taking action at the meeting.			
	Ms. Jarvis announced that due to the requirement that all votes be done by roll call, recommendations will not be made separately for			

Agenda Items	Discussion/Action	Motion	Vote	Recommendation / Action
	each section of the chapter. Rather, in the interests of time, there will be one vote once all reviews are complete. At that time, anyone may move to extract a specific section for separate consideration.			
Approval of April 8, 2021 Minutes	A motion was made and seconded to accept the April 14, 2022 meeting minutes.	Rogers Ervin	Aye: Jarvis; Ervin; Martin; Garrett; Rogers Nay: None	Motion approved
Nursing Care Facilities - Chapter 10	Ms. Michael provided the review of data tables regarding Chapter 10. Dr. Craddock provided a presentation on the impact of COVID-19 on Nursing Home Beds.			
Adult Care Homes – Chapter 11	Ms. Michael provided the review of data tables regarding Chapter 11.			
Medicare Certified Home Health Services – Chapter 12	Ms. Elizabeth Brown provided a review of data for Chapter 12, Home Health Services.			
Hospice Services – Chapter13	Ms. Brown provided a review of data for Chapter 13, Hospice Services.			
Psychiatric Inpatient Services - Chapter 14	Dr. Emanuel provided a review of the data table for Chapter 14.			
Substance Use Disorder /Chemical Dependency - Chapter 15	Dr. Emanuel provided a review of the data table for Chapter 15.			
Intermediate Care Facilities (ICF/IID) - Chapter 16	Dr. Emanuel provided a review of the data table for Chapter 16.			
Recommendation	Ms. Jarvis requested a motion to recommend approval of the draft data and need determinations and to forward that recommendation to the	Martin Ervin	Aye: Jarvis; Ervin; Martin; Garrett; Rogers	Motion approved

Agenda Items	Discussion/Action	Motion	Vote	Recommendation / Action
	SHCC. This motion includes the understanding that staff will continue to update data and make necessary corrections and changes. Recommendations pertaining to all chapters will be forwarded to the SHCC for action at the June 1 meeting.		Nay: None	
Other Business	Ms. Jarvis noted the next LTBH Committee meeting is on Thursday, September 15 at 10:00 a.m. The next full SHCC meeting is Wednesday, September 28 at 10:00 a.m. The SHCC meeting will be held via WebEx.			
Adjournment	There being no further business, Ms. Jarvis called for a motion to adjourn the meeting.	Rogers Ervin	Aye: Jarvis; Ervin; Martin; Garrett; Rogers Nay: None	Motion approved