

## **State Health Coordinating Council Meeting - DRAFT**

## Minutes

September 29, 2021 WebEx

This remote meeting was held during the COVID-19 declared State of Emergency. As such, the meeting followed the directives in SL 2020-3 (SB704) enacted May 4, 2020.

**Members Present**: Dr. Sandra Greene, Acting Chair, Ms. Kelli Collins, Mr. Stephen DeBiasi, Mr. Vanessa Ervin, Mr. William (Brian) Floyd, Sen. Michael Garrett, Dr. Charul Haugan, Ms. Valarie Jarvis, Dr. Lyndon Jordan, Mr. Cooper Linton, Mr. James Martin, Jr., Dr. Robert McBride, Ms. Denise Mihal, Dr. Pamela Oliver, Mr. Timothy Rogers, Ms. Quintana Stewart, Dr. Jessie Tucker, Mr. John Young

Members Absent: Rep. Gale Adcock, Hon. Tonya McDaniel, Hon. Barbara McKoy, Dr. Dwight Perry, Mr. Mark Werner

**Healthcare Planning Staff Present**: Ms. Melinda Boyette, Ms. Elizabeth Brown, Dr. Amy Craddock, Dr. Tom Dickson, Dr. Andrea Emanuel, Ms. Trenesse Michael

DHSR Staff Present: Mr. Mark Payne, Ms. Micheala Mitchell, Ms. Gloria Hale, Ms. Julie Faenza, Ms. Kim Meymandi, Ms. Tanya Saporito

Attorney General's Office: Ms. Bethany Burgon

Agenda Items	Discussion/Action	Motions	Vote	Recommendations/ Actions
Welcome & Announcements	Dr. Greene welcomed Council members, staff and visitors to the fourth and final State Health Coordinating Council (SHCC) meeting of 2021. She acknowledged that the business meeting was open to the public but was not a public hearing and discussion would be limited to Council members and staff.			
	She stated that the purpose of the meeting was to receive recommendations from the standing committees regarding changes to the <i>Proposed 2022 SMFP</i> . She noted that following the meeting, staff would incorporate SHCC actions into the <i>SMFP</i> , which would be submitted to the Governor for review and approval.			
	She asked Dr. Amy Craddock to call the roll of members and asked the members introduced themselves by stating their name, affiliation, and SHCC appointment type. Staff introductions followed.			

Agenda Items	Discussion/Action	Motions	Vote	Recommendations/ Actions
Review of Executive Order No. 46 Reauthorizing the SHCC and Executive Order No. 187 Extending the SHCC	Dr. Greene gave an overview of the procedures to observe before taking action at the meeting. She inquired whether anyone had a conflict or needed to declare that they would derive a benefit from any matter on the agenda or intended to recuse themselves from voting on the matter. She asked members to declare conflicts as agenda items came up. Mr. Linton recused himself from voting on the Acute Care Services Committee recommendations.			
Approval of Minutes from June 2, 2021	A motion was made and seconded to accept the minutes of the June 2, 2021 meeting.	Rogers, DeBiasi	Aye: Collins, DeBiasi, Ervin, Floyd, Garrett, Haugan, Jarvis, Jordan, Linton, Martin, McBride, Mihal, Oliver, Rogers, Stewart, Tucker, Young Not voting: Greene	Motion approved
Recommendations from the Acute Care Services Committee	Dr. Greene presented the report from the Acute Care Services Committee. The report covered Chapters 5-9 of the <i>SMFP</i> .  Mr. Charles Gregg and Dr. David Grantham from the Pinehurst Surgical Clinic were invited to speak about the Lee County Operating Room (OR) petition.			
Recommendations from the Long- Term and Behavioral Health Committee	Ms. Jarvis presented the report for the Long-Term and Behavioral Health (LTBH) Committee, which covers Chapters 10-16.			
Recommendations from the Technology and Equipment Committee	Dr. Jordan presented the report for the Technology & Equipment Committee, which covers Chapter 17.			
Discussion of Pinehurst Surgical Clinic's Lee County Operating Room Petition	Mr. Young requested that the Lee County OR petition be extracted for a separate vote. The SHCC members held a discussion regarding the petition. A motion was made and seconded to deny the petition (A denial would mirror the Acute Care Services Committee's recommendation to deny the petition).	Motion to deny petition: Young, Rogers	Aye: Collins, DeBiasi, Ervin, Haugan, Jarvis, Jordan, Linton, Martin, McBride, Mihal, Oliver, Rogers, Stewart, Tucker, Young Nay: Garrett Not voting: Greene	Motion approved (Petition denied)

Agenda Items	Discussion/Action	Motions	Vote	Recommendations/ Actions
			Left meeting: Floyd	
SHCC's Recommendation to the Governor	Having heard each of the Committee Reports, Dr. Greene asked for a motion to approve the recommendations of each committee. This final vote authorizes staff to continue making changes to the inventories and correcting data as necessary, as well as making non-substantive edits to narratives. It also directs staff to incorporate the council's actions into a recommended version of the <i>N.C. 2022 SMFP</i> for submission to the governor. Finally, staff is authorized to include an <i>In-Memoriam</i> page dedicating the <i>2022 SMFP</i> to the memory of Dr. Christopher G. Ullrich.	Mr. Rogers Ms. Jarvis	Aye: Collins, DeBiasi, Garrett, Haugan, Jarvis, Jordan, Martin, McBride, Mihal, Oliver, Rogers, Stewart, Tucker, Young Abstain: Linton Not voting: Greene Left meeting: Ervin, Floyd	Motion approved
Other Business	Hospital Care at Home: Dr. Greene announced that an Interested Parties meeting would be held to discuss reporting days of care for hospitals with the CMS program as well as any other similar program.			
	MRI Methodology: Dr. Greene announced that she and Dr. Jordan would co-chair a workgroup to investigate revision of the MRI methodology. Staff will soon send a call for volunteers. Dr. Greene will appoint members of the workgroup.			
	Dr. Greene thanked all the Council members for sharing their time with us this year. She gave a special thanks to those who have played leadership roles as Committee Chairs. In addition, she thanked staff for their support and the audience for their participation throughout the year. Dr. Greene announced the dates for the 2022 State Health Coordinating Council meetings and public hearings.			
Adjournment	There being no further business, Dr. Greene called for a motion to adjourn.	Jordan, Haugan	Aye: Collins, DeBiasi, Garrett, Haugan, Jarvis, Jordan, Linton, Martin, McBride, Mihal, Oliver, Stewart, Tucker, Young Not voting: Greene Left meeting: Ervin, Floyd, Rogers	Motion approved