
   

  

  

 

  

 

                        
       

 

 

     

 

  

                    

 

       

       

 

            

   

   

   

                                      

                                         

                                     

                                         

 

   

     

          

 

        

   

         

         

 
 

North Carolina Department of Health & Human Services –Mental Health/Developmental Disabilities/Substance Abuse Services 

DHHS Incident and Death Report 

Provider Agency Name   Consumer’s Name LME Client Record Number. 

This form is used to report Level II and Level III incidents, including deaths and restrictive interventions, involving any person receiving publicly funded mental health, developmental 

disabilities and/or substance abuse (MH/DD/SA) services.  Facilities licensed under G.S. 122C (except hospitals) and unlicensed providers of community-based MH/DD/SA services must 

submit the form, as required by North Carolina Administrative Code 10A NCAC 27G .0600, 26C .0300, and 27E .0104(e)(18).  Failure to complete this form may result in administrative 

actions against the provider’s license and/or authorization to receive public funding.  This form may also be used for internal documentation of Level I incidents, if required by provider 

policy or LME contract. Effective May 1, 2010, this form replaces the DHHS Incident and Death Report (Form QM02, Revised April, 2009). 

Instructions: Complete and submit this form to the local and/or state agencies responsible for oversight within 72 hours of learning of the 
incident (See page 3 for details). Report deaths of consumers that occur within 7 days of restraint or seclusion immediately. 
If requested information is unavailable, provide an explanation on the form and report the additional information as soon as possible. 

Page 1-2 Instructions: The staff person who is most knowledgeable about the incident should complete pages 1-2 of this form as soon as possible 
after learning of the incident and submit to their supervisor or other staff as directed by agency policy) for review and approval. 

Date of Incident: Time of Incident: a.m. p.m. Unknown 

CONSUMER INFORMATION 

Consumer’s Date of Birth: 

All Diagnoses: 

Consumer adjudicated incompetent?  Yes  No 

Consumer has TBI (Traumatic Brain Injury)?  Yes  No 

Consumer receiving ICF-MR/DD Services?     Yes  No 

Consumer’s Gender: Male  Female 

Consumer enrolled in Methadone maintenance program?  Yes 

Consumer enrolled in one of the following CAP/MR-DD 

Waiver services?  Check all that apply: 

  Comprehensive Waiver  

Supports Waiver  

   Money Follows the Person    

Innovations      

RACE:  

Hispanic/Latino   Native American          White/Anglo 

 Black/African American    Mixed Race Other 
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LOCATION OF INCIDENT 

Community  Consumer’s legal residence Day Treatment   Family’s home   Friend’s home Hospital 

Provider premises Unknown   Other (specify) 

Name / title of first staff person to learn of incident 

Was the consumer under the care of the reporting provider at the time of the incident?  Yes  No 

Was the consumer treated by a licensed health care professional for the incident?  Yes  No Date: 

Was the consumer hospitalized for the incident?  Yes  No Date: 

NOTE: Incident reports are quality assurance documents. Do not file incident reports in the consumer’s service record. Confidentiality of consumer information is 
protected. Use the form according to confidentiality requirements in NC General Statutes and Administrative Code and the Code of Federal Regulations. 

DMH/DD/SAS-Community Policy Management Section – Guide for Form QM02  Effective October, 2004 – Rev. 3/8/06 Page 1 of 4 



 

  

                        
       

 
 
 

 

 

              

         

 

 

       

       

               

       

       

       

       

             

 

     

 

     

     

     

      

  

    

 

  

North Carolina Department of Health & Human Services –Mental Health/Developmental Disabilities/Substance Abuse Services 

DHHS Incident and Death Report 

Provider Agency Name   Consumer’s Name LME Client Record Number. 

Briefly describe the incident, including Who, What, When, Where, and How.  Do not provide another consumer’s name or identifying 
information. 
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CONSUMER DEATH 

Level II death due to: Terminal illness/natural causes 

Level III death due to: SUICIDE ACCIDENT  HOMICIDE / VIOLENCE  UNKNOWN CAUSE 

Did death occur within 7 days of the restrictive intervention? Yes No If yes, immediately submit this form to your supervisor. 

DETAILS OF DEATH REPORTABLE TO NC DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

Complete this section only for deaths from suicide, accident, homicide/violence, unknown cause or occurring within 7 days of restrictive 
intervention. 

Address where consumer died: County_____ 

Physical illnesses / conditions diagnosed prior to death: 

Dates of last two (2) medical exams:  Unknown None 

Date of most recent admission to a hospital for physical illness:  Unknown None 

Date of most recent discharge from a hospital for physical illness:  Unknown None 

Date of most recent admission to an inpatient mh/dd/sas facility:  Unknown None 

Date of most recent discharge from an inpatient mh/dd/sas facility:  Unknown None 

Height: ft in  Unknown Weight: lbs  Unknown           

RESTRICTIVE INTERVENTION 

Did death occur within 7 days of the restrictive intervention?  Yes No If yes, immediately submit this form to your 
supervisor. 

 (Number in order of use) 

Physical Restraint 

Isolation 

Seclusion 

Is the use of restrictive intervention part of the consumer’s Individual Service Plan? Yes No 

Was the restrictive intervention administered appropriately?  Yes  No 

Did the use of restrictive intervention(s) result in discomfort, complaint, or  
require treatment by a licensed health professional? Yes No 

Attach a Restrictive Intervention Details Report (Form QM03) or a provider agency form with comparable information. 

NOTE: Incident reports are quality assurance documents. Do not file incident reports in the consumer’s service record. Confidentiality of consumer information is 
protected. Use the form according to confidentiality requirements in NC General Statutes and Administrative Code and the Code of Federal Regulations. 

DMH/DD/SAS-Community Policy Management Section – Guide for Form QM02  Effective October, 2004 – Rev. 3/8/06 Page 2 of 4 



  

  

 

  

 

 

 

  

 

 

         

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

  

         

 

    

 

                 

                

 

 
 

                  

                          

                    

        
           

                  
 

 

 
 

 

 

 

  
 
 

 

 

 

North Carolina Department of Health & Human Services –Mental Health/Developmental Disabilities/Substance Abuse Services 

DHHS Incident and Death Report 

OTHER INCIDENT 

INJURY 

Report injuries requiring treatment by a 
licensed health professional 

(Check only one) 

Injury due to: 
Assault 

Motor vehicle accident 

Self-injury

 Suicide attempt 

Trip or fall 

Other (specify) 

ABUSE ALLEGATION 

(Check all that apply)
 Alleged abuse of a consumer (includes 
sexual abuse) 
Alleged neglect of a consumer 

Alleged exploitation of a consumer 

Alleged sexual abuse of a consumer 

Report any alleged or suspected case of 
abuse, neglect or exploitation of a 
consumer, as required by law, to the 
county Dept. of Social Services and the 
DHSR Healthcare Personnel Registry (if a  
staff is accused). 

MEDICATION ERROR 

Report errors that threaten health or safety 

(Check all that apply)

 Wrong dose administered 

Wrong medication administered 

Wrong time (administered more than one 
hour before or after prescribed time)

 Missed dose Refused dose 

 Medication given to wrong consumer 

Other 

CONSUMER BEHAVIOR (Check all that apply) OTHER INCIDENT 
(Check only one)

 Aggressive behavior Suspension of a consumer 

Destructive behavior from services 

Illegal act Number of days suspended   

 Inappropriate or illegal sexual behavior (consumer is victim, not perpetrator)  Expulsion of a consumer from 

 Unplanned consumer absence of more than 3 hours over the time specified in person- centered plan services 

Diversion of drugs Fire that threatens or impairs a 

Other (specify) consumer’s health or safety 

Name/title of staff person documenting incident (Please print): 

Phone ( ) 

Signature ________________________________________________________ Date Time a.m. p.m. 

Supervisor’s Instructions: The supervisor of the service should review pages 1-3 of this form, complete pagse 3 and 4 and submit to required 
agencies in the required timeframes.  
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Facility / Unit Facility /Unit Director: 

Service address: City:  County 

Facility /Unit Phone Number: ( ) IPRS Billing No. or National Provider ID No.: 

Service being provided at time of incident: Residential Licensed Residential License No________ Non-residential (specify) 

Was a 122C-Licensed service being provided at the time of the incident?   No Yes (License No.) If yes, note 
reporting instructions for Level III below. 
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 Level II 
(Moderate) 

Send this form to the 
host LME (LME 
responsible for 
geographic area where 
service is provided) 
within 72 hours. If 
required by contract, 
also report to the 
consumer’s home LME.

 Level III (High) 

Immediately report verbally to the host LME. Convene an incident review committee within 24 hours if services 
were being actively provided at time of incident or the incident occurred on the provider’s premises. Send this 
form within 72 hours to: 
 host LME (see bottom of page) 
 consumer’s home LME 
 NC Division of MH/DD/SAS, Quality Management Team, 3004 MSC, Raleigh, NC 27699-300 

Voice: (919) 733-0696    Fax: (919) 508-0986 

NOTE: Report deaths that occur within 7 days of seclusion or restraint immediately to the host LME and 
DMH/DD/SAS Advocacy Team (919) 715-3197. 

NOTE: If a licensed G.S.122C service was being provided at time of the Level III incident,  use the same 
deadlines to report death from suicide, accident,  homicide/violence, and death occurring within 7 days 
of restraint or seclusion, to the NC Division of Health Service Regulation, Complaint Intake Unit, 2711 
MSC, Raleigh, NC 27699-2711. Voice: 1-800-624-3004 Fax: 919-715-7724 

Do not report deaths of unknown cause to DHSR. 

NOTE: Incident reports are quality assurance documents. Do not file incident reports in the consumer’s service record. Confidentiality of consumer information is 
protected. Use the form according to confidentiality requirements in NC General Statutes and Administrative Code and the Code of Federal Regulations. 

DMH/DD/SAS-Community Policy Management Section – Guide for Form QM02  Effective October, 2004 – Rev. 3/8/06 Page 3 of 4 



   

  

  

 

  

 

 

      

 

          

          

  

  

                                                    

 

     
     
     
     
     
     
     
 
     
     

     

 

            
            
            
            
            
            
            

 

            
            
            

 

 

        
        
        
        
        
        
        

 

        

        

        

 

                  

               

 

 

 

North Carolina Department of Health & Human Services –Mental Health/Developmental Disabilities/Substance Abuse Services 

DHHS Incident and Death Report 
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Describe the cause of the incident; why did the incident occur? 

Describe how this type of incident may be prevented in the future and any corrective measures that have been or will be put in place 
as a result of the incident 
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Indicate authorities or persons notified of the incident (as applicable): 

Agency / Person 

Host  LME  

Home  LME

 Law enforcement 

DSS County:  _________________

 NC DMH/DD/SAS QM Team 

NC DHSR Complaint Unit 

NC DHSR Health Care Personnel 
Registry

 Service Plan Team/Clinical Home 

Parent / Guardian 

Other 

Contact Name Phone or FAX 

( ) 
( ) 
( ) 
( ) 
( ) 
( ) 
( ) 

( ) 
( ) 
( ) 

Notification Date 

Name/title of supervisor authorizing report and completing page 3. (Please print): 

Phone ( ) 

Signature ________________________________________________________ Date Time a.m. p.m 

E-mail address:. 

Direct questions to: ContactDMHQuality@ncmail.net  Phone: (919) 733-0696 

NOTE: Incident reports are quality assurance documents. Do not file incident reports in the consumer’s service record. Confidentiality of consumer information is 
protected. Use the form according to confidentiality requirements in NC General Statutes and Administrative Code and the Code of Federal Regulations. 

DMH/DD/SAS-Community Policy Management Section – Guide for Form QM02  Effective October, 2004 – Rev. 3/8/06 Page 4 of 4 
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